Question 9
The European Union can be described to have originated from the European coal and steel company. The Union has 27 member states mainly located in Europe and the body governs the economics and political ties of these member states. The European Council of coal and steel community was created when France Italy, West Germany, and the Benelux countries signed the treaty of Paris, mainly to curb the threat created by Germany due to its heavy industrialization. The institution gave birth to other bodies such as the high authority and national assembly, the current European Commission and European parliament respectively. On a further note, the Rome treaty led to the formation of two other bodies, the European Economic Community, and the European atomic energy committee. These three bodies-ECCS, ECC and EAEC-came to form the European Union later on.
Currently, the European Union consists of 7 main institutions that are to ensure that the institution is as effective as possible. To begin with is the European Parliament which consists of 749 members and elects the president and officers from within itself. That stated the main function is to work alongside the council in making laws (Smith, 2017). The second body is the European council whose core is to create and define the policy of the union. Thirdly is the council whose function is to make laws, alongside the parliament. The court of justice is made up of various judges mainly appointed by member states while the European central bank comprises the European system of central banks. Finally, there is the court of auditors mandated with auditing the union.
The changes expected of the body are very few considering that all European countries have established territories with few changes expected. The main change to be expected pertains the economic and trade ties of the members due to the change in market and consumer trends.
Smith, P. (2017, October 8). The structure and functioning of the European Union. Retrieved from KIPDaily: